Athlete of the Month: Gavin Davis

Joe Bandy

Gavin Davis is a senior member of the cross-country team and has been running all four years of high school. He placed 32nd last year at the 2A state meet and has been a front-runner (no pun intended) of the team his entire career.

-What do you view as your biggest accomplishment of your career?”
“Running a sub 18 [minute] 5k would probably be my biggest accomplishment so far”

-What’s your fondest memory of your entire career?
“My best memory would probably when I broke 18 [minutes] for the first time, and David Smith, whom I have trained with so much, was there to cheer me on for the last half mile.”

-Do you plan on running in college?
“I haven’t really decided yet. If I don’t it will be so I can have time to train for an Ironman Triathlon. I’m actually planning on swimming this winter to begin that training”

-What are your goals this year in XC?
“Probably to run a sub 17 minute 5k and to place in the top three individuals at regional’s”

-What about for your team?
“My goal for the team is to make state and place top three at regionals.

Davis wasn’t able to make it to the Colts first meet but led them to a strong victory over three other teams in the Patriot Pride Run held Saturday, September 7.

Leave a Reply

