Don’t “flick” me off

Lianna Naughton

I know what you’re thinking.

Shame on you.

It has recently been brought to my attention how under-educated teens are when it comes to movie theater etiquette. From texting with the full screen brightness on to kicking the seat in front of you, I’ve experienced every movie-going taboo in the book. So next time you’re considering going to catch that new blockbuster starring Johnny Depp, keep your fellow viewers in mind.

First off, no one wants to be the janitorial staff at a movie theater. It only takes two extra seconds to be a decent human being and pick up your trash. I mean, how gross is it to sit down and discover someone’s half empty Coke with a side of ABC gum? Clean up after yourself.

I can’t believe I have to say this, but turn your cell phone off. I am incapable of stressing how annoying it is to be in the middle of a great scene and be distracted by some girl Snapchatting her friends. And I know, you can say, “It’s on vibrate! It isn’t going to bother anyone!”

It will.

And finally, please, please, please do not be the obnoxious movie fan who ruins the experience for everyone else. Recently, I went to see The Hunger Games: Catching Fire with some friends (great movie, by the way). I was beyond excited to finally see it. Imagine my disappointment as the three girls in front of me squealed and squirmed the entire production.

Please don’t misinterpret my words as harsh or mean, but we’re all excited to be there. Be courteous and let everyone enjoy the movie.

Leave a Reply

